Everybody is Special!

Sr. Angela Siallagan tengah menjalani kursus bahasa Inggris di People’s Resource Center (USA). Kami telah beberapa kali berbincang, bilakah dia berkenan membuat tulisan dalam bahasa Inggris. Dalam satu pengalaman menonton film bersama rekan-rekannya, Sr. Angel kemudian tertarik untuk menuturkan ilham yang dipetik seusai menikmati suguhan film tersebut. Sungguh senang mendapat perkenan biarawati yang gemar menulis dan bertualang ini. Terima kasih, Suster. Kiranya inspirasi senada juga tumbuh dalam hidup kami. Amin.

 

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

There are four moviegoers. Perhaps, just like the four musketeers on a special mission. Melanie Teska, Fr. Philip, Sr. Gracella and I went to Regal Cinemas Cantera 17 & RPX. We left at 6.00 p.m from Lady of the Angel community.

I really enjoyed watching this “Greatest Showman” that inspiring me to write it in English article. Besides, I can learn literacy skill during the course in Uncle Sam state.

The movie – which starred Hugh Jackman (popularly known as a mutant named Logan) – tells low and high of circus entrepreneur life. It begins with Barnum’s childhood as a poor tailor son in Connecticut. He was grown up in a poor family. Through great efforts facing each challenge, Barnum later became famous and rich due to his successful circus performance.

Barnum is an ambitious man. His refuses an ordinary dream. On the contrary, to believe on “Million Dreams”, that he would make earth became a magical and awesome place. Then, Barnum carry out business on the American Museum in New York City.

First of all, he made wax sculptures of people and beasts which deteriorated. But, his daughters gave the idea to their father to make something more unique. The idea captivated Barnum. So, he began to collect unique people, a bearded woman, a dog-faced boy, a tattooed man, a tallest man, a shortest man and some people of color who lived with their talents and golden voices.

As his circus effort reaches success, some people assume it is a fraud. He is accussed master of freaks. Barnum stands firm on his “Million Dream” world. He never satisfied with current success.

In Barnum’s opinion, everybody is special. He with all the unique people together became a great and wonderful team of collaborators in the Greatest Showman.

The four of us along with audiences were hypnotized with atmosphere of love, family struggles, anger and songs that delight our ears and fill our hearts.

That was the greatest movie I’ve ever seen. Barnum wanted to teach to all audiences that we need to love ourselves. Everyone is a special creation of God, apart from any deficiencies, “Everybody is wellborn”. So, everyone should be proud of themselves.

Read : GRHA CERMIN TOLERANSI

We are special

The full blue moon is beautiful, but it can not be reached

The blue sea is clear, but it can not be dived into

 

I think the opinion that human beings fingerprint are unique or different each other. It means everyone is special and unique. Everyone has a hidden talent. The talent will remain as it is, unless the one begins to shape with strong believe

Barnum gives me more inspiration on my dream being an author. After seeing the movie, I believe I must dare to dream, must read many books, think hard, have imagination and knowledge.

Professional writer must be wise to choose a unique book title. Moreover, learning market share (books interested in by people). Otherwise his manuscript will never be accepted by the publisher and finally thrown away into the trash.

I remembered my first book, the title is “Human Beings of Attributes”. I do not know why I dared to dream of writing a book when I had never studied writing or gotten any tips about writing a book. But my dreams pushed my brain to think and work hard. During my busy works, I still carried out that intention and forced myself to finish the book.

The effort was indeed blessed by God. The book was completed in two months. When the first book was published by KANISIUS Publisher in Yogyakarta, I was grateful and happy. After the first book was published, I was tempted to write a second book and so on.

The Greatest Showman’s movie is an amazing show and a sensation of the world. But it not just an entertainment. For me, that movie became an inspiration. Barnum motivated me to realize myself as a special and unique person. We should be proud of ourselves. God created us as a gift. Be a blessing to everyone through our presence. Barnum also learned to dare to make his dreams come true. Dream can be evidence that someone had intentions, hopes, effort and the desire to work hard.

Everybody is special and unique. Everybody is a blessing. Everybody have treasure in themselves. Let’s share our treasure with all people.

I am grateful to Melanie Teska and Fr. Philip was inviting and took us right up to Regal Cinemas Cantera 17 & RPX. May God’s blessings be abundant for them.

Written by : Sr. Angela Siallagan FCJM | Corrected by : Sr. Francetta Glowinski FCJM | Editor: Ananta Bangun

 

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment