January 7th be My Blessed Sunday

Portrayed along with Sr. Gracella at Michigan Lake

January 7th be my blessed Sunday. It’s hard to explain with another phrase, I think.

The special day was begun by Eucharist celebration with PWKI, or Indonesian Catholic Community based in Chicago. Along with one of the member, Marine, I and Sr. Gracella left to Techny Towers Conference and Retreat Center.

PWKI held New Year Mass. Marine told us that Eucharist will be started at 10.30 a.m. Fiuhh, that is enough for rehearsal playing organ. Meanwhile, my partner in crime (ups… sorry), I mean partner in eucharist, Sr. Gracella tried to chant the Psalm.

The moment was awesome as we could talk with new Indonesian friends in Uncle Sam country. After mass, we all had lunch together. What a great day! Hehehe.

At 02.00 p.m., Monika and her husband, Stefanus took Sr. Gracella and me for a ride around the downtown in Chicago. To be honest, I never heard the city before. I was so amazed seeing skycrappers. We visited Field Museum of Natural History and Shedd Aquarium. What a great day! (again). Hehehehe.

Unfortunately, we only take few pictures because of cold weather. We agree to visit Chicago again in spring season. I really can’t wait it.

in front of Chicago Cathedral Church

***

“Practice makes perfect”. I got to practice before the mass.

The mass with PWKI, reminded me about one enviable day to join national week for migration Eucharistic Celebration. It was held by the Cardinal of the Diocese of Chicago, whose name is Blase Joseph Cupich.

That will always be a ‘once in a life-time’ moment, I guess.

When the mass finished, many people swarmed towards the cardinal to shake his hand. Sr. Gracella and I also followed them and took the line to shake his hand. While shaking hands, the Cardinal asked me, “Hello Sister, how are you?” I replied, “I am fine”. The cardinal continued questioning, “Where are you from?” and I replied “I am from Indonesian”, Cardinal said, “Oh … wonderful”.

Despite it was brief chat, I am really glad that I can shake hands with the Cardinal.

Shaking hands with Cardinal Blase J. Cupich

***

Stefanus and Monika

At 07.00 p.m, we kept our appointment for dinner with Monika’s family. They have booked our table in the Daebak Korean Barbecue Restaurant Chinatown, Chicago. Stefanus and Monika are so kind invited us in their daughter, Thalia Noegroho’s birthday.

Yumm. Korean food is tasteful. I would not miss the chance to have this delicious one.

I conveyed a lot of thanks to the family, and praying May God bless them. This is really a wonderful day. Amazing. Blessing. All expressive words in dictionary, I want to jot down in this writing.

But over and over again. It’s hard to explain with another phrase, except “January 7th be my blessed Sunday.”

 

 

Written by : Sr. Angela Siallagan FCJM

Corrected by : Yessi Theresia Purba

Editor : Ananta Bangun

Leave a comment